Ricotta Gnocchi

photo(12)

I’ve made my love of pasta, especially gnocchi, no secret to all of you.  I often crave the smooth pillowy heavenly bits, but the thought of peeling and boiling potatoes and making a dough just doesn’t seem appealing some days.

I had heard of using ricotta cheese to make gnocchi before, but for some reason I hadn’t given this option a try yet. Every time I heard someone mention making gnocchi with ricotta instead of potatoes they’d say “once you try them this way you’ll never go back” and I have to admit I think they may be right. First of all, it’s so much simpler, less time consuming and they’re super light and soft. I see many more gnocchi in my future now that I’ve discovered these.

I’ve taken such a break from blogging that I’m not even sure if Fiesta Fridays are still happening! I sure hope so because I’ll bring a big batch of these!  Whew, looks like the party is on today!

Ricotta Gnocchi
16 ounces of whole milk ricotta cheese
1/2 cup grated pecorino romano
1 large egg
pinch of salt
3/4 to 1 cup flour

1. Carefully drain any excess liquid from the ricotta. Add the ricotta, pecorino romano, egg and salt to a bowl and combine. Add 3/4 cup of flour and combine. The mix should have some form to it but still be sticky. If it is too sticky continue adding flour a little at a time until you can roll it into a sticky ball.

photo(13)

2. On a lightly floured surface take a small amount of the mixture and roll it into a log about 1/2 inch thick. Cut the logs into about 1/2 inch long gnocchi.

photo(14)

3. Add the gnocchi to a large bowl of boiling salted water. Allow them to cook about 3 minutes then carefully scoop them out. I find it’s best to cook them in 2-3 batches in order to get them all out in time without overcooking.

4. Add your gnocchi to your sauce, I had made a quick tomato cream sauce (recipe to come) but they go great with just about anything. Enjoy!

40 thoughts on “Ricotta Gnocchi

      1. The recipe I tried was zucchini and ricotta and I was so mad that I wasted such great ingredients lol. Will pin this and give it a shot when I feel daring enough lol.

  1. I’ve never tried making gnocchi! I think I might try this way first, I should be more successful! Thanks for sharing!!!! 🙂 Sounds delicious!

  2. Hey Alex, so nice to see you again!! It has been a really long time! Your gnocchi recipe is divine! One day I am going to learn how to make gnocchi, and I will make this one for sure! 😀

  3. Holy smokes, this has blown my mind. I think this would be super nice served with a herby butter or pesto or mmmm omg can’t think, just want to eat it. Thanks for sharing

  4. What an interesting way to make them – with ricotta! Ever since I took a gnocchi class awhile ago I have been wanting to make them. I will add this to my collection and from the sounds of it your method is quite easy 🙂

  5. I too love gnocchi…I’ll choose it over pasta any day! I’ve only made the potato version at home. But after reading this and seeing how delicious your gnocchi turned out, I think I’m sold. I gotta trust another gnocchi lover after all!

Leave a Reply

