Ina’s Eggplant Dip

photo(1)

Each Summer I look forward to getting fresh eggplant to make this spread. As soon as I see some beautiful looking eggplants at the market I’m reminded of how delicious this dip is and immediately get excited to make it!

This recipe is not my own, though I usually make a few changes. I have to give credit to the lovely Ina Garten and her amazing ability to make simple ingredients so special and elegant.

I edited Ina’s recipe slightly to add a jalapeno for a bit of spice and some cumin and parsley. This dip is great with some freshly made pita chips, slathered over bread or honestly just by the spoonful! I’ll be sharing this with my friends over at Fiesta Friday today. If you haven’t joined us yet you should definitely stop by!

Ina’s Eggplant Spread from Ina Garten with a few changes

1 eggplant
1 red pepper
1 onion
1 jalapeno
1 garlic clove
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1 tablespoon tomato paste

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Cut the eggplant, red pepper onion and jalapeno into small chunks and place in a bowl with the garlic. Add the olive oil, cumin, salt and pepper to the bowl and toss it all together to coat the vegetables.

3. Place the vegetables on a baking sheet and bake for 35-45 minutes until soften and browned. Remove the baked vegetables and let them cool down.
photo

4. Place the cooled vegetables in a food processor with the parsley and tomato paste and pulse until combined and smooth. Enjoy!

29 thoughts on “Ina’s Eggplant Dip

    1. Thanks! I usually end up with more eggplants than I know what to do with from our farm basket this time of year but I make big batches of this and never get tired of it!

  1. I love seasonal recipes like this. I should have plenty of eggplants ripening soon, and am happy to have new recipes to try out. This one looks delicious! Thanks.

  2. I also get excited about eggplant, and will try this recipe for our next picnic! The Fiesta Friday people are going to love this too, thank you for bringing the dip to this week’s party and I hope you are enjoying the food and costumes!! πŸ™‚

    1. Aww how sweet of you to check in, thank you! I’m fine, I feel so bad that I’ve been neglecting my blog and everyone elses! We recently adopted a puppy and every evening I feel guilty if I’m spending time on the computer instead of playing with her, plus she needs to go outside nearly every hour which makes cooking and writing difficult lol. I should be back soon once we’re on a more regular schedule πŸ™‚

      1. Whew…glad to hear all is well! Congratulations on your new addition. πŸ˜€ Don’t feel bad about taking a break! Please know that you are missed and we look forward to your return…as long as your “return” includes a photo of your new furry baby!

Leave a Reply

