Kale and Pepper Quesadilla

20140515-193351.jpg
This quesadilla was the result of needing to use up everything in our fridge before heading out of town for a few days. I was rummaging through the fridge to determine what had to be eaten before we left. The discoveries were a half a block of cheese, half a bag of small sweet peppers, one bunch of kale and a few green onions. Once I realized there were a few whole wheat tortillas hidden in the back of the fridge, the idea came to life. I think quesadillas get a bad rap for being unhealthy food, but depending on the tortilla you use and what you put in them they don’t have to be so bad.

I’m bringing these quesadillas to Angie’s Fiesta Friday party today.  If you haven’t joined the party yet you totally should it’s a ton of fun and the other bloggers are so inspiring! 

Kale and Pepper Quesadillas

Serves 2
2 tablespoons olive oil
8-10 mini sweet peppers
1 bunch kale
1/2 cup green onions, chopped
1/2 cup pepper jack cheese, shredded or cubed
2 whole wheat tortillas
Salt
Pepper

1. Remove the tops and seeds of the peppers and cut them into thin strips. Add the pepper strips and 1 tablespoon of olive oil to a pan on medium heat. Sauté until the peppers soften, about 6-8 minutes and season with salt and pepper to taste. Transfer the peppers to a bowl.

20140515-193436.jpg

2. Remove the kale leaves from the stems and chop into small pieces. Add the remaining olive oil and kale to the pan on low heat and sauté for about 4 minutes until the kale wilts. Add the kale to the bowl with the peppers.

20140515-193622.jpg

3. Add the green onions to the bowl with the other vegetables and stir to combine.

20140515-194019.jpg

4. Place a tortilla in the pan and return to low heat. Place 1/4 of the cheese on half of the tortilla, then half of the vegetable mixture then another 1/4 of the cheese. Fold the other half of the tortilla on top and cook for 3 minutes. Flip the tortilla and cook for another 2 minutes then remove it from the pan. Enjoy!
20140515-194148.jpg
20140515-194132.jpg

26 thoughts on “Kale and Pepper Quesadilla

  1. This looks like a delicious way to get my healthy greens in, Alex! Yummy. I imagine the pepper jack cheese gave it just the right amount of “oomph” too! 😉

    1. Yes it’s a great way to sneak in some veggies. I’m a bit of a whimp when it comes to spice so the pepper jack is just right for me.

  2. I love these! I’m a huge fan of kale and have been putting it in everything I can think of lately (my favourite way to have it though is tossed in lime juice and cumin). I’ve not had it in a quesadilla yet! I will definitely be sneaking a few of these from the party!

  3. This sounds like me. I do this same assessment and (with my obsession for Mexican inspired cooking) if a tortilla appears, it is usually my target. The next thing that goes through my mind, as I am about to head out, is what can I take with? On the plane, in the car, the ferry or bus (well not usually ever a bus)…

    Thanks for transporting these to the Fiesta. Enjoy the “mini break”

  4. What a great use of the stuff in your fridge, Alex. I love when a meal can come together from random foods I remember I have in my fridge. Quesadillas get a bad rap? Well, whoever speaks ill of them shouldn’t speak to me. I love quesadillas! And you are absolutely right that it depends on what you use to make them or put in them. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

