Cumin Roasted Carrots

photo(85)

Oh carrots. They certainly are not one of my favorite vegetables. While I don’t exactly dislike carrots, I never find myself getting excited for them. Yet, somehow, they always manage to make their way into my shopping cart and my kitchen. When I’m wandering through the produce aisle I always think something like “oh I should probably pick up a bag of carrots in case I want to make some soup” but the poor bag usually ends up unused.

This week I had a bag of carrots from my grocery shopping, and also received more in my farm basket and I was determined to use them. I juiced some, threw some in a potato salad, but still had more carrots left so this is what I did with them. I wanted to give them lots of flavor that I knew I’d enjoy so I added cumin for a very distinct taste. If any of you have a favorite carrot preparation I’d love to hear it, I could definitely use the ideas!

Cumin Roasted Carrotsphoto(83)
6-8 carrots washed and peeled
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Chop the carrots into even bite sized pieces. I like to cut them in half lengthwise then cut them into smaller pieces.

2. Combine the carrots with the rest of the ingredients in a baking dish and toss to combine.

photo(84)

3. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes, until they’re soft when you stick a fork in them. Enjoy!

photo(86)

14 thoughts on “Cumin Roasted Carrots

  1. This sounds really good, I hadn’t thought of the combination with cumin and oregano! I like to sneak grated carrots in my homemade spaghetti sauce. They aren’t noticed and everyone eats their carrots 😉

  2. How you described your feelings about carrots? My Feelings exactly. I am not sure why. Maybe I need to try some fun recipes like yours!

Leave a Reply

