Simit (Turkish Bagel)

Simit
In the past week I’ve made kabobs twice, humus and now simit. Something tells me I’m really missing this time last year when I was enjoying these foods with tea by the sea in Turkey. Simit was basically everywhere in Turkey, we’d buy a bunch in the morning and snack on it all day long while we walked around.

I wasn’t totally sure how to go about making this myself. Traditional Turkish simit has grape molasses in it, something I didn’t have. I used a light maple syrup instead for the syrupy component. It wasn’t quite what I remembered but still a great snack that I’m sure will be all gone in the next 24 hours. These are best served with a glass of Turkish tea, but personally, I like to dip them in Nutella!

Simit
1/2 teaspoon yeast
1 cup water
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons water
3 tablespoons grape molasses (I used maple syrup)
1 cup toasted sesame seeds

1. Combine the yeast and 1 cup of water in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook. Let sit for about ten minutes. Then, add the flour and salt and combine. Let it mix for about 5 minutes, until you have a slightly sticky ball of dough. Transfer the dough to a bowl and let it rise for about an hour, until it doubles in size.

simit6

2. When the dough has risen, divide into 12-14 even pieces. Roll each piece out into a thin log. Combine two of the logs and twist them around each other. Combine the ends together so it forms a circular shape.

simit4

3. Combine the water and molasses in a shallow plate, and the sesame seeds on another.

simit5

4. Dip the simit in the water and molasses mixture, let the excess liquid drip off, then dip them in the sesame seeds.

simit3

5. Continue with each simit and place them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Let the formed simit rise again for about 30 minutes. Finally, preheat your oven to 350 degrees and bake for 25 minutes, until they’re slightly browned. Enjoy!

simit2

15 thoughts on “Simit (Turkish Bagel)

  1. Very impressive Alex! They’re so pretty to look at and I bet delicious too 🙂 I imagine the hint of maple tastes wonderful paired with a dip of Nutella!

  2. These look amazing! I didn’t even know there was such a thing, either. Thanks for teaching me something new 😉

Leave a Reply

