Chicken Kabobs

kabob
Can you believe it’s Friday already? I seriously can’t, this week flew by. I’m happy I’m now caught up and I didn’t miss Fiesta Friday ! I’m glad to see that many of my fellow bloggers have embraced the change in seasons and are already taking to their grills. Given that I live in a small apartment in the DC suburbs, I’m not allowed to have a “real” grill, but I’ve found my cast iron grill pan works almost just as well. You don’t get the exact same flavor, but definitely some great grill marks.

I’ve also noticed many people making kabobs which bring back memories of my visit to Turkey almost a year ago. While I’m sure nothing I’m grilling at home is going to taste as great as what I ate in Istanbul, I’m certainly willing to give it a try!

Chicken Kabobs
3 tablespoons olive oil
juice of 1 lemon
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried mint
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 clove chopped garlic
2 chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes
2 red bell peppers
1 onion

1. Combine the olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, mint, oregano and garlic in a bowl. Add the chicken and let marinate for two hours.

2. Chop the peppers and onion into inch long pieces and add to the marinating chicken.

 

kabob3

3. If using wooden skewers, soak in water for at least 30 minutes.

4. Place the peppers, onions and chicken cubes on a skewer in alternating order. Place on a hot grill pan and cook for about 15-25 minutes (for some reason mine took a long time to cook), until the chicken is cooked through, enjoy!

kabob2

33 thoughts on “Chicken Kabobs

  1. Looks as if you’ve perfected these even without an outdoor grill – proof positive you can still get a perfect kabob indoors! My favorite part is the little bits of char on the ends – yum! The marinade sounds simple yet delicious πŸ™‚

  2. Alex, these look terrific! I must, must, must make some kabobs soon as I have been drooling for several weeks now when others have brought them to Fiesta Friday. The rice looks good too–what is it?

  3. Looks delicious! I have a stovetop grill pan as well but recently bought a new stove and apparently it isn’t advisable to the grill pan on it. I’m so disappointed but am saving up for a proper grill now. Maybe I can send my extra pan over to you πŸ™‚

    1. I really do love it! When I bought it I wasn’t sure how much I would be using it, but it’s almost a permanent fixture on top of my stove in the summer.

  4. Great looking kebabs, Alex! I live in an apartment without a balcony, so I’ve missed outdoor cooking, but after seeing the results from your grill pan, I’m tempted to get one (there’s always room for another pan, right??) πŸ™‚
    This recipe looks delicious!

  5. Oh, no, not even a portable one on the balcony? Bummer! But, no worries, grill pan can produce pretty amazing kebabs. My last kebabs were cooked on a grill pan and they were good! Yours look amazing, Alex! Mmm…I think I’m making kebabs again soon! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

