Panzanella with Bacon and Sweet Balsamic Dressing

photo(80)

As much as I’ve been trying to be very healthy lately, I have been and always will be a carb-aholic. I love bread of every shape and size and simply can never get enough. Therefore, it shouldn’t surprise you that I would he a huge fan of a bread salad. And if you’re already making the salad out of bread, why not add bacon? Now that’s a salad!

I received some great little yellow tomatoes in this week’s farm basket and their color just goes so great with the bacon and toasted bread. However, you can use any kind of tomatoes you like. I also added some spinach to this so I could feel slightly less guilty while eating it. I topped this salad with a sweet balsamic dressing which was just perfect. I’ve already eaten two helpings of this salad today – and it’s not even noon, oops! Oh well, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I am!

And to make things even better, it’s Fiesta Friday! Check it out and join the party!

Panzanella with Bacon and Sweet Balsamic Dressing
For the salad:
2 tablespoons salted butter
2 slices day old bread, cubed
3 pieces of crunchy bacon
1/2 cup tomatoes, chopped in half
1 cup spinach chopped into bite-sized pieces
2 green onions, chopped
1 tablespoon parsley, chopped
1/2 ball of mozzarella cheese, cubed

For the dressing:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon honey
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

1. Add the salted butter to a pan on low heat. When the butter melts, add the bread cubes to the pan and cook until lightly toasted, about 8-10 minutes.

photo(82)

photo(81)

2. In a bowl combine the bacon, tomatoes, spinach, green onions, parsley and mozzarella. Add the bread when it’s toasted and toss to combine all of the ingredients.

3. To make the dressing whisk all the ingredients together. Pour the dressing over the salad, enjoy!

photo(79)

23 thoughts on “Panzanella with Bacon and Sweet Balsamic Dressing

  1. Beautiful panzanella Alex! One of my favorite salads and your addition of bacon is right up my alley. The dressing you used sounds deliciously simple… the perfect topping for panzanella! And two helpings before lunch? Better than two cupcakes 😉

  2. What a gorgeous salad – sufficient for a full meal, or two servings before lunch! Is it better to use fresh bread, day-old or so, or does it matter?
    Thanks for bringing it to the party.

    1. Thanks Hilda! I forgot to mention, day-old bread is definitely, it’s easier to cut up, gets nice and crunchy and then soaks up the dressing!

  3. Alex, your Panzanella looks perfect for the FF gang! The addition of bacon takes this to another level – and hey for that matter it is perfect to absorb all of those crazy Latin Lovers and Bellinis that everyone has been guzzling all night long. Thanks so much for bringing your salad to the party 🙂

  4. Yes, give me carbs! This salad looks fabulous, Alex. I love a great panzanella salad and the bacon you added just makes it that much more attractive to me. Thanks for bringing this to the party because now I am reminded to make this salad soon!

Leave a Reply

