Breakfast Bites

photo(46)

I have to admit, these aren’t the prettiest little things but they came about out of necessity. I usually start my mornings with a large coffee and a yogurt. Unfortunately, the past couple months I haven’t been feeling great after eating my morning yogurt. I’m not sure if I’ve developed some type of lactose intolerance (is that possible?) or what, but I’ve decided I need to switch out my yogurt for something else at least a few days a week.

While trying to figure out what else would be a good morning snack, I rummaged my cupboards for healthy ingredients. I also knew I would need a little bit of sweetness in this to make it just as appealing as my delicious creamy yogurts, hence the chocolate chips. These little breakfast bites only take a few minutes to make and you can add whatever you like into them. If you don’t have wheatgerm, feel free to leave that out. Add some dried fruit or try another kind of nut if you want.

Breakfast Bites
1/2 cup almonds
2 teaspoons water
1/4 cup oats
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
2 teaspoons wheat germ
2 Tablespoons chocolate chips
2 Tablespoons honey
pinch of cinnamon

1. Place the almonds in a food processor and pulse them a couple times, then add the water and continue pulsing them until you get a sticky mixture. It should be a little soft but still have tiny bits of almonds in it.

photo(44)

2.  Add the almond mixture and the rest of the ingredients to a small bowl and mix to combine.

photo(45)

3. Roll the mixture into bite-sized balls and store in the fridge until you’re ready to eat them, enjoy!

photo(47)

19 thoughts on “Breakfast Bites

    1. I used to be the same way! But then I would end up eating twice as much throughout the rest of the day so now I’m making an effort to eat breakfast regularly.

  1. I know what you mean – I get heartburn when I eat yogurt and certain types of cheese now so I hope I haven’t developed an intolerance to it. This recipe looks great, I’m always looking for a quick healthy breakfast beyond eggs & toast. Will try this weekend!

Leave a Reply

