Italian Wedding Soup

soup4

This recipe was a lesson in using what I had around to create something I really wanted. For the past week or so I’ve been craving a nice hot bowl of Italian wedding soup, so I finally just made it myself. The problem was, I didn’t exactly have the right ingredients. So, I made some substitutes. Instead of ground beef, I used turkey for the meatballs. Instead of escarole, I had swiss chard. And for the pasta, all I had was small shells.

While this isn’t exactly traditional Italian wedding soup, I’m all about changing recipes up to make them my own, so I really enjoyed this little experiment. Not to mention, it tastes pretty close to the original!

Italian Wedding Soup soup3
Meatballs:
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 lb ground turkey
1/8 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 gloves garlic, minced
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup breadcrumbs
1 egg
1 Tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Soup:
32oz chicken or vegetable stock
1/2 onion, chopped
1 bunch of swiss chard
1/2 box small pasta (I used small shells)
2 Tablespoons olive oil

1. Start by making your meatballs. Combine all of the ingredients except the olive oil in a bowl and mix to combine, careful not to over mix it. Use a teaspoon to scoop out small bits of the meat mixture and form small meatballs. Put the olive oil in a pan on medium heat and add the meatballs to the pan. Cook for about 6 minutes, turn them upside down and cook for another 5-6 minutes, they should be lightly browned.

soup

soup2

2. While the meatballs are cooking get started on your soup. Chop up the swiss chard into bite-sized peices, using the entire green part and about 1/2 of the stems. Add the olive oil to a pot and set it to medium-low heat. Add the chard and your chopped onion to the pot. Season with salt and pepper. Cook the chard and onion about 5 minutes. Next add your stock.

3. When your meatballs have finished cooking add them into the pan with the chard, onion and stock. Finally, bring the soup to a boil and add the pasta, cooking about for 10 minutes until the pasta is al dente.

4. Top with some pecorino romano and enjoy!

soup5

Related: Fiesta Friday

16 thoughts on “Italian Wedding Soup

  1. This I’ve only ever heard of. And don’t know the original, if there’s such a thing. That’s what I love about regional cooking, as people use what they have to hand. Surely one of the reasons why there’s such a wealth of differing cuisine. I know I’m always finding out about new ingredients/recipes just by blogging.

    1. The original I remember has pork and beef meatballs and escarole. And yes I also love learning how things differ from region to region and person to person!

  2. Looks and sounds so lovely. I made it once a few years ago and it was great! I never worry about changing up the ingredients either. Sometimes we discover something new and beautiful!

  3. I love this soup, but have never made it. I was thinking about trying it before the winter’s out. I like your substitution of turkey for ground beef (probably healthier) and that you used what you had.

Leave a Reply

