Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms

photo(3)
I have never liked mushrooms.  Sorry to any of you mushroom fans out there, but I have just never liked them.  I think it’s the slightly slimy texture that just completely turns me off.  I basically avoid them at all costs.

However, this week I got some in my farm basket and I realllly try not to let anything I get go to waste so I decided to give it my best try to make something I didn’t absolutely hate out of these mushrooms.  After scouring recipes and multiple Google searches for “mushroom dishes that don’t taste like mushrooms” I decided my best bet was to add bacon to them.  When in doubt, just add bacon, right?

So, I mixed up this quick bacon stuffing and gave these mushrooms my best shot. While these aren’t something I would make too often, I have to admit I didn’t hate them.  Also, when I shared them with people who actually enjoy mushrooms, they loved them. So, if you’re a mushroom-friendly individual I think you’ll like these.  The mushrooms I had were pretty small, so I think this recipe would work better with larger mushrooms (that way you can stuff more bacon into each one)!

Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms
20-30 white button mushrooms, cleaned with stems twisted off
5 slices of cooked bacon
1 cup of uncooked rice
1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley
1/2 yellow onion very finely diced
2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
1/4 cup breadcrumb
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1.Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
photo(1)

2. Cook your rice according to the instructions on the package. I used brown rice in mine but any kind would work.

3. Chop up your cooked bacon and add to to a bowl with the parsley, chopped onion, garlic, breadcrumb, olive oil, salt and pepper.

4. When your rice has cooled, at it to the bowl with the rest of the ingredients and stir to combine them all.
photo

5. Carefully spoon about 1/2-1 teaspoon (depending on the size of your mushrooms) of the filling into each mushroom.

6. Place the mushrooms on a baking sheet and bake for about 15-20 minutes (again depending on the size), until the filling on top starts to brown, enjoy!
photo(2)

4 thoughts on “Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

