Simple Sautéed Kale

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

photo (45)

I know I know, its cliche now to say you recently discovered kale is an awesome superfood, but I never tried it until a few months ago and now I’m obsessed – where have you been all my life kale!? Kale is good in so many preparations and this is one of my favorites. A super simple way to get all of the healthy benefits of this great ingredient.

This could be a great Thanksgiving side if you’re looking for ways to lighten up traditional holiday sides. To all my other kale fans out there, let me know how you like to cook it!

Simple Sautéed Kalephoto (46)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion sliced into thin strips
1 glove garlic, minced
1 bunch of kale
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Salt and pepper

1. Add the oil and garlic to a pan on medium heat.

2. Let the garlic cook for 30-60 seconds and then add the onion and season with salt and pepper.

3. Let the onion cook for about 4 minutes and then add the kale, if the entire bunch won’t fit in the pan you can add some, let it cook down a little and then add the rest.

photo (47)

4. Add the lemon juice and red pepper flakes and continue to cook until the kale has wilted, about 8 minutes, enjoy!

20131120-204225.jpg

5 thoughts on “Simple Sautéed Kale

  1. I love a good kale saute…your version look delicious! It’s great on the grill too, with a smidgen of olive oil brushed on the leaves, salt & pepper then crisped up a bit. Can’t go wrong with kale 🙂

  2. I didn’t know kale could be prepared so simply until I was over at my girlfriend’s house and I tried her simple recipe. It was delicious. While I was never a kale fan before, I am now a convert. Thanks for sharing another great and simple recipe!

Leave a Reply

