Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese

photo (43)

I think I eat about twice as much mac n cheese as a normal human being should.  Whenever the mac n cheese food truck is even remotely near my office I can’t resist.  It’s just one of those foods that pretty much always sounds good to me.

This week a lone butternut squash was the only farm basket ingredient we had left to use by Sunday, so I was searching for something creative and relatively simple to do with it.  This recipe satisfied the need to use up the squash, and eat something cheesy and carby.  I was afraid adding squash to such a comfort food type of dish would end up kind of strange, but it’s actually not weird at all!

The one thing no one seems to mention about cooking with squash is how difficult it is to cut!  I mean I know I’m pretty weak but I still think cutting open a squash qualifies as a days work out.

Butternut Squash Mac n Cheese
1 medium butternut squash
3/4 box of small pasta (elbows or shells work best)
3 T butter
3 T flour
2 cups of heavy cream
2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese
1 T olive oil
1/2 cup bread crumbs
salt, pepper and cinnamon to taste

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cut butternut squash in half, scoop out the seeds and brush the insides with olive oil a bit of salt, pepper and cinnamon. Roast for about 45 minutes, until tender.

2. When your squash is cooked, lower the oven to 350 and let the squash cool for a bit. Carefully scoop out the insides of the squash, being sure not to get any of the skin.

photo 2

3. Cook your pasta in a pot of boiling salted water until al dente.  When it’s cooked add it to a large oven pan

4. In a large saucepan melt the butter on medium – low heat. Once melted, add the flour and whisk continuously. Next add your heavy cream and continue to stir.  Then add the cheese and the squash and continue stirring until the cheese has melted and everything is combined.  Add a pinch of cinnamon and salt and pepper to taste.

5.  Pour the cream sauce over the cooked pasta and top with breadcrumbs.

photo (44)

6. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes, enjoy!

photo (42)

8 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese

  1. Looks delicious, Alex! And I am with you with the butternut squash being so hard to cut. No lie I think I broke a sweat when I cut one the other week. My Mom buys the pre-cut ones at Wegman’s so if you’re ever there I’d scoop them up 🙂

    1. I’ll definitely have to look for some of those, I usually end up spending as much time just cutting the squash as it takes to make the rest of the dish!

  2. Numerous times I have gotten my knife “stuck” in a butternut squash! Definitely not an easy feat to get those devils cut…glad to heat I’m not the only one with issues! This mac n’cheese looks and sounds delicious, thanks for sharing your recipe:)

Leave a Reply

