Onion, Pepper and Tomato Quiche

photo (12) photo (13) photo (15)

I hate to admit it, but my husband and I have become incredibly boring over the past year.  The highlight of our weekends lately is usually a trip to Costco and binge watching whatever the newest hit tv series is.  This weekend, we had to suck it up and pretend to be fun people.  My husband’s best friend was coming to visit and so we had to go out, stay out late and actually do things during the day.  Not that we didn’t have a good time, but by Sunday, I was exhausted.

Growing up, Sundays were synonymous with pasta.  For the most part, I’ve continued that tradition into my adult life but this Sunday I decided to forgo the Sunday sauce and whip up something that would make up for the lack of vegetables in our weekend meals of mac n cheese, chili fries and frozen pizza.  So, I took every remaining vegetable out of the fridge, sauteed them up and made this quiche.  The best thing about this dish is it has that warm comfort food feeling, but gives you lots of nutrients and vitamins from the veggies.  It also requires minimal work.  Since I was aiming for doing the least amount of work possible I used a ready made pie crust but you could certainly make a homemade one very quickly.  The recipe below is what I put in it, but you can put really anything you want in this, it’s a great versatile meal idea.

Onion, Pepper and Tomato Quiche

1 ready made pie crust
1 large chopped yellow onion
1chopped green  bell pepper
3 large chopped heirloom tomatoes
4 eggs
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese chopped or grated
1/2 cup monterrey jack with jalapeno cheese chopped or grated
2 t butter
1 t olive oil
seasonings to taste (I used salt, pepper, parsley and oregano)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2. Add the butter and olive oil to a pan on medium heatphoto (16)

3. When the butter is melted add the onion to the pan and cook for about 5-6 minutes. Season with salt, pepper and whatever spices you like

4. When the onion is starting to get translucent add the pepper
**I like my peppers a little under cooked, if you like them softer, add them in with the onion or slightly after

5. Cook for another 4-6 minutes until peppers begin to soften

6. Add the tomatoes and cook for another minute or two

7. When the onions, peppers and tomatoes are cooked turn the pan off and set aside

8. Whisk the eggs in a small bowl and add the heavy cream, then add the cheese photo (14)

9. Place the pie crust in a pie dish (my pie dish was dirty so I had to use my spring form pan but it worked)!

10. Pour the vegetables into the pie crust and top with the egg, milk and cheese mixture

photo (17)11. Bake at 400 degrees for 35-45 minutes, until a knife inserted into the quiche comes out clean, enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Onion, Pepper and Tomato Quiche

Leave a Reply

