Spaghetti Squash with Turkey Sausage, Onions and Peppers

photo (3) photo (4) photo (6)
I absolutely love this time of year.  It’s cool enough to be comfortable outside, but not yet time to bundle up. I can start pulling out my favorite fall staples like boots and scarves.  And, in my opinion, it’s the best season for vegetables.  It’s the perfect transition time when you can still get some late summer gems like great heirloom tomatoes at the same time that my fall favorites likes squash , sweet potatoes and swiss chard are just hitting their peak.  This week I got spaghetti squash in my farm basket – an ingredient I’ve never cooked myself before.  The past few days I’ve been craving an Italian sausage and peppers sandwich, so I decided to see if I could combine the two.  I’m a bit of a turkey kick at the moment, so I substituted turkey sausage for pork and the taste was surprisingly similar.  A fun bonus with the squash – you can toast the seeds just like pumpkin seeds to snack on!

Spaghetti Squash with Turkey Sausage, Onions and Peppers
2 medium spaghetti squash
2 bell peppers cut into strips
1 yellow onion sliced
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
salt
pepper
olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees

2. Cut the squash in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds – save them if you want to roast them!

3. Drizzle olive oil over the squash and salt and pepper them photo (7)

4. Place the squash on a baking sheet and put them in the oven for 30-40 minutes, until you can easily poke them with a fork and feel that they’re soft

5. Add some olive to a large pan on medium heat and add the onions and the sausage
**I like my peppers just a little crunchy so I wait to add them, if you prefer them cooked more add them in with the onions and sausage

6. Add the peppers and season with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes and cook until the sausage is cooked through

photo (8)7. When the squash is soft, take it out of the oven and use a fork to scrape out spaghetti like strands and add them to the cooked sausage and vegetables – careful with the squash it will be very hot!

8. Mix it all together, top with some pecorino romano or parmesan and enjoy!

Roasted Spaghetti Squash Seeds 

Rinse the seeds and let them dry on a paper towel. Mix the seeds in a bowl with some olive, salt and pepper (add some cayenne if you like spice). Put them on a baking sheet and bake at 250 for 30-40 minutes, turning them every ten minutes so they evenly roast.

photo (9)

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash with Turkey Sausage, Onions and Peppers

Leave a Reply

